• Blonde Redhead "Sit Down For Dinner LP BLACK"
kod EAN: 0720841361312nr kat.: 0720841361312

Blonde Redhead "Sit Down For Dinner LP BLACK"

  • Artist: BLONDE REDHEAD Title: Sit Down For Dinner LP BLACK
Label: PIAS
    Blonde Redhead —the beloved rock trio of Kazu Makino and Italian twin brothers Amedeo and Simone Pace present ‘Sit Down for Dinner’ - their first studio album in 8 years, due September 29th via section1, and the release of lead single, “Snowman,”the band played a pair of special and sold out intimate preview shows in New York and Los Angeles. Today’s “Melody Experiment”showcases bright and driving instrumentation, anchored by staccato guitar and a subtly infectious synth line. In stark contrast, the song’s lyrics detail a communication breakdown in enduring relationships: "Why would you be like you can always bail out if you choose to or if you wanted to/Why put yourself in the first place where you don't know that you were meant to/Funny how decisions you make when you fall in love with someone/How would you feel If I kept you secret?/I didn’t know what I was afraid of/Well I felt somewhat abandoned/I felt abandoned myself, didn’t I?"
    This song is a conversational piece between two people,” says Makino. “One is questioning the intentions, integrity, and consequences of one’s emotions and actions. She is hypersensitive. The other keeps things simple, allowing himself to go with the flow. Musically, I was able to find something that is quite true and natural to myself, and now I want to continue on this path.”
    Written and recorded over a five-year period spanning New York City, upstate New York, Milan and Tuscany, Sit Down for Dinner is immaculately structured, imbued with sensitivity, clarity, and resolve. Throughout the album, the understated yet visceral melodies create a foil to lyrics about the inescapable struggles of adulthood: communication breakdown in enduring relationships, wondering which way to turn, holding onto your dreams.

    In spring 2020, Makino encountered a passage from Joan Didion’s 2005 memoir of grief, The Year of Magical Thinking, which reflects on her devastating experience of witnessing her husband’s sudden death at the dinner table. Amid the profound uncertainty of those early pandemic months, Makino was thinking of her own parents far away in Japan; the then-lost ritual of congregating for dinner with family; and the heavy, omnipresent feeling that life could change in the instant for any of us. There was one line that would eventually lend itself to the album’s title: “Life changes fast. Life changes in the instant. You sit down to dinner and life as you know it ends.” Simultaneously, the album has a separate resonance for the Pace brothers. Culturally, dinner is a non-negotiable family ritual, one that the trio implemented while rehearsing or on tour. “I know a lot of people eat and run, eat in front of their TV, or don’t care about it too much—and that’s OK—but we really do,” says Simone. “It’s a moment for us to sit down and have time with each other.”
    This spirit of connection is immediate in Blonde Redhead’s innate harmonic sensibilities. “We have a language we have kept,” Makino says. “We try to change rhythms, concepts, and sounds. But that harmonic sensibility has stayed the same. It hits the same part of your heart.” The vocal layers of the album’s opening track, “Snowman” were inspired by the Swingle Singers’ acapella renditions of Bach. The luminous groove and chord progression of the song, sung by Amedeo, is one of many Blonde Redhead songs inspired by the attitude and breeziness of Brazilian experimental music; a brilliant turn of phrase melts its titular snowman into simply a man, struggling to express himself: “Do you feel alive or do you only fall? So like a no man, that you are.” Amedeo wrote “Snowman” while on a bus in the Monte Rosa mountains and battling motion sickness. "I got inspired to write a song that only had two chords and a melody that would live and float between them. ‘Snowman’ is about how it can be a blessing or a curse to be invisible and undetectable, and how it’s something we all feel and desire at times.”


    1. Snowman
    2. Kiss Her Kiss Her
    3. Not for Me
    4. Melody Experiment
    5. Rest of Her Life
    6. Sit Down for Dinner Pt.1
    7. Sit Down for Dinner Pt. 2
    8. I Thought You Should Know
    9. Before
    10. If
    11. Via Savona
22,13 €
Ask for this product

If this description is not sufficient, please send us a question to this product. We will reply as soon as possible.

Fields marked with asterisk are required
'); fbq('track', 'PageView'); pixel